My Brother,

As we traverse our Masonic journey, we sometimes forget why we are traveling the path that we have chosen. We know where we have been, we know we must move forward, but as one hallway leads down the next, eventually, there is a rap at our Inner Door that halts us in our tracks. This, my Brother, is the Great Architect of the Universe summoning entry into our Spiritual Lodge, so that we are reminded that we have not delighted in all that there is from where we were. And most times, we don’t remember how we got here.

We must remember, as Masons, that the journey, and what it means, is what matters most, not the destination. The success, the bullseye, the terminus is innately desired, but how many times have we gotten to the end and asked, “is that it?”

What we have learned along the path is what prepares us for our future, our outcome, and how to get there. If we are to reconnect with ourselves and the Great Creator, and rediscover what is important, be it a great new job, moving to a new house, expecting a grandchild, or seeking the “Light by which all Masons work,” we must remember to enjoy the process. How much value does the outcome hold if getting there was worrisome and stressful?

It is true, as we progress throughout our various places and stations through life, more and more responsibilities alarm our Outer Door. But if we have not enjoyed the journey, absorbed everything we could up to that point, fulfillment is futile.

In our great ritual, we are reminded that we are “traveling upon the level of time to the undiscovered country, from whose bourne, no traveler returns.” We cannot go back to where we once were. We cannot return to what we have done. The path, the journey pushes us forward, not backwards. We move on. We press on and “prepare for that great change which we know must come to all.”

The time to enjoy our journey is not tomorrow, for tomorrow is not promised to us. Prepare and appreciate it now, for our passage is short.

Have a blessed and safe summer, my Brother.

Fraternally Yours,

WM John G. Koratzanis, Jr.


Monday evenings, summer included - unless in case of holiday, continue as practice nights for officers and candidates. All Brethren are welcome.

June 20th - EA Degree Dinner - 6:30pm/Business 7:30 pm dress: FORMAL

September 5th - Business meeting/Welcome back after the summer Program TBA Dinner - 6:30pm/Business 7:30 pm

September 19th - Business meeting/Possible FC Degree Dinner - 6:30pm/Business 7:30 pm


June 24th - Menlo Park Veterans Home Visit NJ Veterans Memorial Home, Edison, NJ 9:30 am

July 7th - Annual 20th Masonic District Family Picnic Gille Park, Lacey Twp, NJ Noon - 4 pm

July 7th-13th A Cuban Adventure - 2018-2019 Grand Master Roger Quintana Trip to Cuba

August 11th - Annual 20th Masonic District Awards Luncheon Captain's Inn 1 pm


Please check your dues card as we still have many Brothers who have not paid for this year. 2018 Dues are due now!

Degrees, Examinations & Petitions

Awaiting Entered Apprentice Degree

Dan Fusco

Kevin Wood

Jesse Urban

Awaiting Fellow Craft Degree

Brandon Scott Kopenhafer

Steven P. Pribula

John Zack, Jr.

Awaiting Master Mason Degree

William Jon Biedeback

Jeffery C. McElwee

Awaiting Entered Apprentice Exam

Allen E. Barlett

Awaiting Fellow Craft Exam

Awaiting Master Mason Exam

Edwin C. Brooks

Morris Ligoski

Brad J Stantella-Fiqueria

Steven Vitable

Kenneth Gross



Matthew Nicholas Jimenez

Ballot for Membership

Sunrise Officers 2018

John G. Koratzanis, Jr. | Worshipful Master

Bro. Kevin Rutzler | Senior Warden

Bro. Earl W. Campos | Junior Warden

R.W. Denis W. Johnson, Sr. JGD | Treasurer

W.B. Theodore Karagias PM | Secretary

Bro. Jack Steinhauer | Chaplain

R.W. Neal E. Bottomley | Senior Deacon

Bro. Robert Rohan | Junior Deacon

Bro. Paul Dobrolovich | Senior Master of Ceremonies

Bro. Anthony Bartolini | Junior Master of Ceremonies

Bro. John Lippincott, Jr. | Senior Steward

Bro. John Lippincott, Sr. | Junior Steward

Bro. William Porter | Marshal

Bradley W. Steinhauer | Organist

D.W.B. John F. Curran | Historian

W.B. Todd "MOOSE" Murray | Tyler

Committees for 2017


RW Michael L. Tucker, PDDGM Emeritus

Bro. Jerome Gertner

RW Vincent Etzel DDGM


RW Joseph McCann PGC

WB Rich Crosby PM

RW Robert T. Bell, Jr. SGD


MW Dieter B. Hees - Past Grand Master

DWA Bro. Christopher Heale


RW Michael L. Tucker PDDGM Emeritus

RW Vincent E. Etzel DDGM

WB Dennis W. Johnson


RW Michael L. Tucker PDDGM Emeritus

RW Roy J. Becker-Rowley DRI

WM John G. Koratzanis, Jr.


RW Roy J. Rowley - 3 years

WB Todd Murray - 2 years

WB Jon Hess, Sr. - 1 years

20th Masonic District Association

Meetings prior to DLI -

Months to be announced


MW William H. Bernman PGM

RW Joseph Herx PDRI

Alfred Sherman PDRI

Robert J. Stewart PDDGM

Living Past Masters

1968 James L. Sprague

1970 Lawrence McGavin

1971 Dennis O. Staer

1977 William Asay

1978 RW Joseph Dias PGC

1978 William C. Wisse

1980 Bruce Cripps, Sr. ***

1981, 90, 93 WB Raymond T. Rowley *

1982 Mark B. Lewis ***

1983 Douglas Bartell

1987-88 RW Robert Fuhrmann, PGC

1989-1996 Theodore N. Karagias

1991 RW Michael L. Tucker, PDDGM ***

1993 Francis Carlevale, Jr.

1995 RW Michael V. Caputo, PDDGM, PGO

1997 RW Arthur Bouder, Jr. PGC *

1997 Joseph Diaz PGC ***

1997 Ronald W. Holt

1998 Daniel H. Langhirt

1998 RW Earl W. Etzel, Jr. JGS *

1999 George W. Paffendorf, Jr. *

1999 Harry L. Anderson *

2000-01 RW E. James Gertsen - Aide to the GM

2001 A. Wayne Klokis ***

2002 John A Tilton

2004 MW Dieter B. Hees - Past Grand Master

2005 John J. Keating

2006 RW Joseph C. McMann PGC

2006 RW J. Philip Divinagracia PDDGM

2007 Vincent E. Etzel DDGM

2007 Morris D. Sussman ***

2008 Richard T. Crosby

2008 Mitchel A. Gertner ***

2009 RW Robert T. Bell, Jr. PSGD

2009 Richard Gendreau ***

2010 David N. Olsen

2011 RW Neal E. Bottomley PGC

2011-12 John J. Dester III *

2012 RW Joseph S. Schwartz, Jr. Past Secretary to the PGM

2013 RW Dennis W. Johnson PJGS

2014-15 RW Jon Hess, Sr. PDRI

2016 Todd Murray

2017 RW Roy J. Becker-Rowley DRI

2018 John G. Koratzanis, Jr.

Most Worshipful, 20th DDGM, 20th DRI

Grand Master of Masons NJ

Most Worshipful Roger B. Quintana

100 Barrack St. Trenton, NJ 08608-2005

20th Disrict Deputy Grand Master

Right Worshipful Vincent E. Etzel

20th District Ritual Instructor

Right Worshipful Roy Rowley

Charity, Blood Bank and Learning Center

20th Masonic District Charity Foundation

Right Worshipful Jefferson R. Driscoll, PGC

(609) 296-0615

20th Masonic District Blood Bank

Worshipful Brother Robert Caffyn, PM

(609) 296-0615

(609) 290-7566

Northfield Learning Center

200 New Road Northfield, NJ 08225

Right Worshipful Joseph T. Mezzina, PAGM

Meeting Nights & Worshipful Masters of the 20th Masonic District

Harmony Lodge #18

1st and 3rd Tuesdays

WB John Lord

Mariners Lodge #150

2nd and 4th Mondays

WB Peter Rahtjen

Sextant Lodge #286

1st and 3rd Tuesdays

WB Robert Kircher

Sunrise Lodge #288

1st and 3rd Wednesdays

WB John G. Koratzanis, Jr.

Tuckerton Lodge #4

2nd and 4th Tuesdays

WB Christopher Fatovich

Copyright © Sunrise Lodge No. 288

Maintained by JKOR Graffix